History of American Society of Aviation Artists

The American Society of Aviation Artists (ASAA) was founded in 1986 by five famous aviation artists: Keith Ferris, Jo Kotula, Bob McCall, R.G. Smith and Ren Wicks. The goal of the society is to promote professionalism, authenticity and quality in aviation art. The group also provides a social and learning environment for its members. Members include artists from the United States and around the world as well as art enthusiasts, students, and art-related institutions.

The society provides assistance to its members through student scholarships, educational forums, business advice, and exhibition opportunities. ASAA also publishes AeroBrush magazine for its members.